# NORTH RIDGEVILLE CITY COUNCIL ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES January 2, 2024

### CALL TO ORDER:

Mayor Corcoran called the Tuesday, January 2, 2024, Organization Meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

Led by Mayor Corcoran.

сссс

Present were Council members Jason Jacobs, Holly A. Swenk, Eric Shaffer, Bruce Abens, Clifford Winkel, Georgia Awig, and Martin DeVries.

Also present were Mayor Kevin Corcoran, Finance Director April Wilkerson, Clerk of Council Nicholas Ciofani, and Assistant Clerk of Council Fijabi Gallam.

# PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL: (MAYOR TO OFFICIATE)

Mayor Corcoran opened nominations for President of Council.

Moved by Swenk and seconded by Winkel to nominate Jason Jacobs for President of Council.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

President Jacobs thanked everyone for the nomination and the support.

# CLERK OF COUNCIL: (NEW PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL TO CONTINUE THROUGH)

President Jacobs opened nominations for Clerk of Council.

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Swenk to nominate Nicholas Ciofani for Clerk of Council.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

### PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL PRO-TEM:

President Jacobs opened nominations for President of Council Pro-Tem.

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Abens to nominate Clifford Winkel for President of Council Pro-Tem.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried.

Yes – 7

No – 0

# HOUSE BILL 9 APPOINTMENTS FOR COUNCIL AND MAYOR:

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Awig to appoint Fijabi Gallam as the Mayor and Council's designee for House Bill 9.

### NORTH RIDGEVILLE CITY COUNCIL ORGANIZATION MEETING January 2, 2024

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

### COUNCIL COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS: (PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL TO ASSIGN THESE - NO VOTE REQUIRED)

President Jacobs announced the following assignments.

Administrative Committee: Chair - <u>Eric Shaffer</u> Member - <u>Martin DeVries</u> Member - <u>Clifford Winkel</u>

Buildings & Lands Committee: Chair – <u>Clifford Winkel</u> Member – <u>Bruce Abens</u> Member – <u>Holly Swenk</u>

Finance Committee: Chair – <u>Martin DeVries</u> Member – <u>Bruce Abens</u> Member – <u>Clifford Winkel</u>

Safety Committee: Chair – <u>Holly Swenk</u> Member – <u>Georgia Awig</u> Member – <u>Martin DeVries</u>

Streets, Sidewalks & Bridges Committee: Chair – <u>Georgia Awig</u> Member – <u>Eric Shaffer</u> Member – <u>Holly Swenk</u>

Utilities Committee: Chair – <u>Bruce Abens</u> Member – <u>Georgia Awig</u> Member – <u>Eric Shaffer</u>

## COUNCIL LIAISON APPOINTMENTS:

Board Of Tax Review: (2 Appointments Made By Legislative Authority - 2-Year Term - Appointees May Not Be Employees, Elected Officials, Or Contractors With The City At Any Time During Their Term Or In The Five Years Immediately Preceding The Date Of Appointment.)

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Paul Haney as Council's first appointment to the Board of Tax Review.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried.

Yes – 7 No – 0

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by DeVries to reappoint Todd Eldridge as Council's Second appointment to the Board of Tax Review.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Planning Commission: (President of Council to assign-a vote is required)

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Winkel to reappoint Councilman Bruce Abens as a member of the Planning Commission.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Winkel to reappoint Councilwoman Holly Swenk as the alternate liaison to the Planning Commission.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Board of Zoning and Building Appeals liaison: (President of Council to assign-a vote is required)

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Awig to reappoint Councilman Clifford Winkel as the Council's liaison to the Board of Zoning and Building Appeals.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

Parks & Recreation Commission: (President of Council to assign-a vote is required)

Moved by Jacobs and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Councilwoman Georgia Awig as a member of the Parks and Recreation Commission.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Board of Drainage & Flood Control: (President of Council to announce as was appointed earlier)

a) Chair of the Buildings & Lands Committee – Councilman Clifford Winkel

b) Chair of the Utilities Committee – Councilman Bruce Abens

c) Chair of the Streets, Sidewalks & Bridges Committee – Councilwoman Georgia Awig

d) Ward 1 Representative (President of Council to ask for -vote required)

(1st appointment)

Moved by Swenk and seconded by Winkel to reappoint Paul Balog as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 1 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

(2nd appointment)

Moved by Swenk and seconded by Winkel to reappoint Rayborn Ford as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 1 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

e) Ward 2 Representative (President of Council to ask for -vote required)

(1st appointment)

Moved by Shaffer and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Ellis S. Stevens as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 2 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

(2nd appointment)

Moved by Shaffer and seconded by Swenk to appoint Greg Fanning as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 2 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

f) Ward 3 Representative (President of Council to ask for -vote required)

(1st appointment)

Moved by Abens and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Norris L. Scott as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 3 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried.

Yes – 7 No – 0

(2nd appointment)

Moved by Abens and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Kenneth Wilson as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 3 representative.

#### NORTH RIDGEVILLE CITY COUNCIL ORGANIZATION MEETING January 2, 2024

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

g) Ward 4 Representative (President of Council to ask for -vote required)

(1st appointment)

Moved by Winekl and seconded by Swenk to reappoint J.D. Gontkovsky as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 4 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes -7 No -0

(2nd appointment)

Moved by Shaffer and seconded by Swenk to reappoint James Cleveland as Board of Drainage & Flood Control Ward 4 representative.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Board of Trustees to govern the use of the Multi-purpose Room (President of Council to assign - vote required)

Moved by Jascobs and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Councilwoman Georgia Awig as Council's Representative to the Board of Trustees.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

Housing Council (CRA): (President Of Council To Assign – Vote Required) (Member Of City Council Appointed From The Buildings & Lands Committee Or Finance Committee, And A Member From The Community)

(1st appointment)

Moved by Jascobs and seconded by Awig to reappoint Bruce Abens as Council's representative to the Housing Council.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

(2nd appointment)

Moved by Jascobs and seconded by Swenk to reappoint Jackie Hudgens as Council's community representative to the Housing Council.

A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Yes – 7 No – 0

# ADJOURNMENT:

President Jacobs adjourned the Organization Meeting at 6:45 p.m.

Approval of minutes on January 16, 2024:

Jason R. Jacobs PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL

M . ~

Nicholas Ciofani CLERK OF COUNCIL